Patrol Division


The Sheriff's Patrol Division is one of the most visible services in the office. Uniformed Deputies have provided police services throughout all of the towns and villages of Niagara County for over 200 years. Patrol Deputies are servants of the people, responsible for the protection of life and property and prevention of crime, detention and arrest of suspects, preservation of public peace, and regulation of traffic.  


Sheriff Deputies use the familiar red and white patrol vehicles to respond to all types of calls, from routine to life-threatening.   These highly trained officers provide vital services to the citizens of Niagara County. A Sheriff's Captain and two Lieutenants supervise each shift. Patrol Deputies also have opportunities to become members of specialty units such as the Office’s emergency response team, underwater recovery team, hostage negotiation team, accident reconstruction unit, canine unit, aviation unit, and police instructors at the law enforcement academy.  


The twelve towns in the county are divided into zones numbered 1 through 12. A deputy is assigned to patrol a designated zone responding to calls in that area and also provides critical mutual aid responses for the cities of Niagara Falls, Lockport, and North Tonawanda. Calls for assistance come through the county 911 system, cellular calls or the Office business number at (716) 438-3393.